follow us

Fire Signs – The Fire Element in Astrology

The four elements of Astrology are fire, earth, air, and water. Each one of these elements rule three signs of the zodiac. These elements are indicative of the sign’s underlying nature, and the focus here will be on the fire signs. The fire signs are Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Aries is the first sign of the zodiac, and Aries’ element is fire. Fire is considered to be first in the list of the elements. It has power, magnetism, and is full of action. The fire signs are ruled by action oriented planets.

Aries is ruled by Mars

Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter

Leo is ruled by the Sun

The Sun makes it easy to remember the fiery energy of this element. Always burning and full of energy, fire signs, due to their high energy and drive can burn out fast and hard. Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius are the achievers, go-getters, and natural leaders.

It is easy to guess which traits the fire element represent, here are a few:

action, energy, ambition, impatience, obsession, movement, motivation

You will notice that a lot of these traits are some of the same ones you will discover when reading about Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius. Fire signs have an inspiring nature, and have the gift of motivation. Goals are meant to be reached and the fire sign would have the determination and drive to reach them. The elemental rulers of Western Astrology are important, and a great way to start in determining compatibility between people. If you wanted to break down the zodiac in to four areas to see if two signs are compatible this is where you would start. Earth signs and water signs are harmonious. Which leaves the fire signs compatible with the air signs.

The air signs are Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. These are the thinkers and these signs operate in an intellectual, social, and communicative aspect. The fire signs get along best with the air signs.

Each sign has a polar opposite. This is the case for every zodiac sign. Earth signs have a polar opposite ruled by the water element. And the fire signs have the polar opposite ruled by the element of air.

Aries is the polar opposite of Libra

Leo is the polar opposite of Aquarius

Sagittarius is the polar opposite of Gemini

Polar opposites are the signs directly opposite one another in the zodiac For now, when thinking of the elements and compatibility, just remember “opposites attract”. The fire signs are attracted to their opposites, which are the air signs. Aries is ruled by Mars the “red” planet. Mars is associated with strength, power, sex drive, and aggressiveness. Leo is ruled by the Sun, which symbolizes vitality, strength, radiance, and the center of everything. Then, we have, Sagittarius which is ruled by Jupiter. Jupiter is an enormous strong planet, and those with a strong Jupiter influence are lucky in life. Jupiter is physical, and independent, just like the adventuring Sagittarius. You can see some of the elemental influence tuning in to these signs. If you can become acquainted with the different elements in Astrology, and their influence, a whole new outlook will emerge. There is balance and order amongst the chaos. A way that everything fits together in the cosmos, and in your life.